Breaking News Politics

“No one will Hear the Name of APC After this Deal”- PDP Moves To Snatch 24 Senate, Reps Seats From APC After S’Court Judgment

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has begun move t take back 24 legislative seats from the All Progressives Congress, APC, following the judgement of the Supreme Court…….CONTINUE READING>>>>>>

The PDP formally submitted a petition to the National Judicial Council (NJC) and the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FSJC) regarding the removal of its members from the Senate, House of Representatives, and Plateau State House of Assembly by the Court of Appeal in November 2023.

The Court of Appeal, Abuja, had earlier in November 2023, removed all 16 PDP members from the Plateau State House of Assembly due to pre-election matters, citing alleged disobedience of a court order and lack of political structure. Prior to this, the appeal court had also removed four PDP members from the House of Representatives and two senators.

Last Friday, the Supreme Court criticized the ruling of the appellate court, emphasizing that the issue of nomination is the internal affair of a political party. Justice Inyang Okoro, who led the five-member panel of the Supreme Court, expressed concern over the consequences of the decision and reversed the removal of Plateau State Governor Caleb Mutfwang.

In response to the Supreme Court’s decision, the Deputy National Publicity Secretary of PDP, Ibrahim Abdullahi, announced that the party has initiated efforts to petition the NJC and FSJC to review the Court of Appeal’s decisions. Abdullahi characterized the appeal court’s rulings as an injustice against the 16 lawmakers from Plateau State.

He stated, “Certainly, yes, we have already commenced efforts in that regard. This is because what the Supreme Court justices did was an indictment on the Justices of the Court of Appeal. We have always maintained that line of argument. We are going to seek redress from the members of parliament concerned. Senate, House of Representatives, and House of Assembly. The redress will focus on their respective offices.”

The affected PDP National Assembly members include the former Senate Minority Leader, Simon Mwadkwon; Senator Napoleon Bali; Hon. Beni Lar, Hon. Musa Bagos, and Hon. Musa Agah.…….CONTINUE READING>>>>>>

About the author


Leave a Comment