Breaking News

CHECK OUT:Full List Of 13 traditional rulers dethroned in Nigeria’s modern history (Names Below)

CHECK OUT:Full List Of 13 traditional rulers dethroned in Nigeria’s modern history (Names Below)……CONTINUE READING>>>>>>

Nigeria’s modern history has been replete with adventures both from the political, religious and traditional spectrum.

Civilian government has been overthrown by the military and the military itself has handed over power to the civilians.

Traditional rulers have however fell under the hammer of both the military regimes and civilian administrations.

Many traditional rulers have been deposed and later reinstated while some have been deposed for good and another appointed into their stead.

This write up revisits some of such traditional rulers deposed in Nigeria’s modern history.

1. Olu of Warri – Erejuwa I

Erejuwa was the traditional ruler of Itsekiri at two different times between 1951-1964 and 1966 – 1989.

A Senior Officer with UAC before becoming a king, he was unfortunately removed and deposed by NCNC Eastern party in 1964, because of his support for Awolowo’s Action Group, which is the party of many Prominent Itsekiris.

The result of the political rivalry lead to the creation of Midwestern States then.

Erejuwa was exiled to a town called Ogbesse, after he was returned by a military government of David Ejoor in 1966 and he reigned till 1989.

2. Alaafin of Oyo – Oba Adediran Adeyemi II

84 year old Oba Adediran Adeyemi II (the father of the late Alaafin of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi III) was dethroned for political rivalry with Chief Obafemi Awolowo lead Western government of Nigeria when he gave his political will and support for an opposition party called NCNC lead by Chief Nnamdi Azikwe.

The clash was heightened by a disagreement and conflict with the then Awolowo Action Group leader, Bode Thomas.

Oba Adediran was sent away from Oyo town in July 1955 and was exiled in Lagos where he was housed by Alhaji N.B Sule, a wealthy NCNC member, after which Gbadegesin Ladigbolu was enthroned as the new Alaafin of Oyo till 1970.

3. Timi of Ede – Abibu Lagunju

Timi Abibu Languju was acclaimed to be the first muslim Yoruba king in history who reigned between 1855 to 1892 and was deposed and exiled by the British government to Ibadan where he lived with Sunmonu Apampa, the Asipa of Ibadan at that time and he died in 1900.

One of his children Raji Lagunju, birthed by an Ile-Ife wife was taken back to her home town, to become the second Chief Imam of Ile-Ife.

4. Emir of Gwandu – Mustapha Jokolo

The ex -Emir was deposed in 2005, by the Kebbi State Government following different allegations levied against him by his Chiefs and was exiled to Kaduna.

He was immediately replaced by June 2005 by one Muhammadu Illyasu Bashar, a retired major, who served as a military governor in the old Gongola State between 1976 & 1978. 15yrs, deposed Jokolo is still challenging his dethronement in Court.

5. Emir of Kano – Sir Mohammodu Sanusi I

Reported to be a powerful Emir of Influence in the colonial days of Northern Nigeria, Sanusi I was the Emir of Kano between 1954 to April 1963, when he was deposed by Alhaji Ahmadu Bello, a distant cousin, after an allegation of financial misappropriation in the emirate. He was deposed to Azare in 1964 and died in Wudil in years after.

Sanusi I is the grandfather of Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, the recently deposed by Emir of Kano who reigned from 2014 to 2020, in a similar instance as his grandfather.

6. Olofa of Offa – Oba Wuraola Isioye

Oba Isioye was enthroned on the 5th January 1957, and reigned as Offa District head for 2yrs, when he was deposed by Northern Regional Government following, a successful move for Offa Local Court to be recognised and the long used Ilorin’s Alkali Court was abolished.

This promoted the Late Saurduna to instigate him being deposed and exiled to Ogbomoso- Kogi Area, where he lived till he returned in 1964. He was reinstated as Olofa till he died in 1969, even though his district title wasn’t returned.

7. Sultan of Sokoto – Ibrahim Dasuki

The dethronement of Late Sultan Dasuki is probably the most widely reported case of removal of a king in Nigeria by the military government of Abacha in 1996, as almost everyone in late 20’s in Nigeria are aware of the development.

There were even songs recorded by musicians to that effect on the continued change of traditions, that the usually saying that a new king can not be crowned while another is alive “T’oba kan o Ku, Oba kan o je”, as waxed by Yoruba Fuji Singer Abbass Obesere.

Ibrahim Dasuki removal was rumoured to be related to issues between him and Abacha, on mismanagement of the late Abacha’s relative’s properties.

There were also speculation that it was due to reports of his modernist style of rulership and many preferred Sultan Maccido, who later succeeded him.

8. Olowo of Owo – Oba Olateru Olagbegi II

Unarguably the richest and most influential Olowo of Owo town in Ondo state, Oba Olateru became Olowo in 1941 and reigned till 1966 when he took side with Chief Samuel Ladoke Akintola against Chief Awolowo who was his ally.

Of a fact, Awolowo Action Group party was founded right inside Olowo palace and Owo for years experienced political and kingship battle, which came to a climax in 1966 following a cold blooded coup with many properties and lives lost in the course.

The people of Owo revolted their King and sent him away on exile where he lived for another 27yrs, and his stool was taken over by Oba Ogunoye.

At the demise of Ogunoye, Olateru was reappointed as the new Olowo of Owo in 1993 and spent another 5yrs on the throne till he died in 1998. His eldest son, took over from him in 1999 and reigned for 20yrs.

9. Deji of Akure – Oba Oluwadamilare Adesina Osupa III

The inglorious exit of Oba Oluwadamilare as Paramount king of Akure is another reminder of the importance of carriage and conduct in kingship, as they are seen as leaders and role models.

The king was deposed on 10th of June, 2010 following the beating of his estranged wife at her home in Akure, in what the Ondo state government referred to as, a dishonorable, condemnable and disgraceful conduct unexpected of a king which invoked a section of the state chieftaincy law of 1984 as amended.

With an immediate action, a new Deji of Akure Adebiyi Adeshida Afunbiowo II was announced on 13th of August 2010.

Other Kings dethroned are;

10. Oba Awujale Sikiru Adetona was deposed in 1981 after suspension by a panel of inquiry set up by the then Ogun state governor, Olabisi Onabanjo after which he was found guilty of the charge.
He was luckily reinstated by Col. Diya, following a military coup.

11. Onojie of Uromi – Anslem Aidenojie was suspended and later dethroned in 2016 by Former Governor Adams Oshiomhole for abusing a woman and total disregard for constituted authority, for failure to apologize within 2 weeks he was given.

Governor Obaseki however reinstated the former king in 2018.

12. Olupoti of Ipoti Ekiti – Oba Oladele Ayeni

The king Oba Isiah Oladele who was alleged to have been wrongly selected in 1987, was thrown out in 2012 after 25yrs of reign.

13. Eleruwa of Eruwa, Oba Samuel Adebayo Adegbola, sacked by the Supreme court in November 2019 after a 21 year reign.

He was first dethroned in 2011, after which he filed an appeal but lost the throne 8 years later.……CONTINUE READING>>>>>>


About the author


Leave a Comment